Recreational Writing

Recreational Writing

Last week I self-published a little ebook called Recreational Writing β€” a coaching guide to writing for fun and insight. It’s currently available in various formats including EPUB and MOBI at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/36742.

It will soon be distributed to the major ebookstores such as Apple, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, Sony, and eventually Amazon. It’s priced at $1.99 US.

Recreational Writing was a project I started last summer when I was casting around for something new to do. I had originally thought I’d be working on my Credit River project, but the summer’s intense heat kept me out of the field so I needed something else to work on.

Much of the drafting of Recreational Writing was done on an iPad, using Apple’s Bluetooth keyboard and Doc2 HD as a word processor. As the project went into its final editing, my Macbook Air had arrived and I finished the book on the Air.

It’s a small work that can be read in one or two sittings. The concept behind it was the same as what Amazon is calling a “Single.” An extended argument or article on some topic. It’s not comprehensive by any means and is certainly not a textbook.

Yet I think, and hope, readers will find it encouraging and useful. Above all I hope it inspires others to take up writing for fun.

For, bottom line, fun is what this is mostly about, whether in the form of a journal, memoir, or a blog posting like this one.

Next I’m turning to a set of personal essays and if the weather cooperates this summer, I’ll restart the Credit River project. More on those topics later.

In the meantime, it was fun to join the “Indie” publishing phenomenon and to learn how to create an ebook.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Books & eBooks, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recreational Writing

  1. kathy says:

    Gene, did you think about photographing the area in winter? :) I found PC pretty fetching in the winter especially with the ravines and ice flows you probably get down bu the river. The weather over the past 2 weeks it seems has been bitterly cold.

  2. Gene Wilburn says:

    K, you’ve been reading my mind. I’d like to get some winter shots of the river farther upstream where more geology is exposed.

  3. Linda Miland says:

    Hi, Gene. Congratulations on completing this project.

    I’m happy to shell out my $2, but how does one do that without a charge card? This is an ongoing problem for me, online.

    Linda

  4. Gene Wilburn says:

    Hi Linda. Thanks kindly. I wish I could suggest something re charge card but it’s pretty much how ecommerce is structured. Even Paypal requires a credit card.

    Gene

Leave a Reply

