Does the Kindle Contain Steroids?

I’ve owned the 6-inch Amazon Kindle Global Wireless for about 15 days as I write this, and I’d never have guessed how much reading I’m doing. In terms of novels or novellas, I’m reading, or have finished:

The Man Who Was Thursday, G.K. Chesterton
The Thirty-Nine Steps, John Buchan
The Call of the Wild, Jack London
The Shadow Out of Time, H.P. Lovecraft
A History of Terraforming, Robert Reed (Asimov’s, July 2010)
Triplanetary, E.E. “Doc” Smith
The Unparalleled Adventures of One Hans Pfaal, E.A. Poe

In addition I’ve read short stories by Poe, Conan Doyle, and Charles de Lint, plus whatever else is in Asimov’s July 2010.

Current nonfiction on the go:

Full House: The Spread of Excellence from Plato to Darwin, Stephen Jay Gould
Touchstone Anthology of Contemporary Creative Nonfiction: Work from 1970 to the Present, Edited by Lex Williford and Michael Martone (just finished the marvellous essay, “The Search for Marvin Gardens,” by John McPhee)
The Smashwords Style Guide, Mark Coker
Walden, Henry David Thoreau
On the Origin of Species, Charles Darwin

With nonfiction, I tend to read bits at a time, usually a chapter or another logical unit.

The Kindle, as evidenced by the above, has put steroids into my reading habits. The only downside so far, I’ve been neglecting my math studies for the past few days.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Kindle, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

