New Year’s Resolution: 4288 x 2848

Nikon D90

I started the New Year with a purchase: a Nikon D90 DSLR with, yes, 4288×2848 image resolution.

For those who follow my blog, rest assured I’m not getting rid of the lovely Panasonic G1 4/3 DSLR. It’s a keeper, and one of the most versatile cameras I’ve owned, with its ability to host a wide range of non-Panasonic lenses, including rangefinder lenses. The D90 complements the G1.

The main reason for acquiring a D90 is to use my existing Nikon AF lenses as AF, something the G1 can’t do. And, to be honest, I miss having a Nikon body in the kit. For me, Nikons are the most ergonomic of all camera brands. From the original Nikon F SLR film camera to the present DSLRs, that “feel right in the hand” heritage continues.

I really liked the D60 I sold to a friend. The only problem I had with it was that it couldn’t autofocus my older AF lenses. It required the newer AF-S lenses for AF. The best camera I ever owned was a D300, which I sold only because it proved too heavy for me, after some cardio hiccups.

I told myself that next time I got a Nikon (it was never in doubt) I’d get one of the mid-tier models that would AF my AFs but weigh less than the upper-tier models.

In going mid-tier, I give up the D300’s ability to meter with manual lenses and record the info to EXIF. I’ll miss that, but the weight factor is more important. Besides, I don’t have this ability with the G1 either, and it’s not bothered me much.

The D90 has a movie mode, though my reading of reviews tells me it’s fairly primitive. “Crappy” is a more accurate description. I’ll give it a try, but I suspect my Panasonic FZ35 will run rings around it as a video cam. What the D90 is is a very good still camera.

So I’m starting 2010 the right way: doing my duty as a consumer to keep commerce humming. Isn’t it nice to belong?

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Year’s Resolution: 4288 x 2848

  1. WeeDram says:

    You are so right about the importance of having a camera that really fits in the hand, that is an extension of one’s self. Of course, that would actually mean an Olympus, but there you go … ;)

  2. Gene says:

    LOL, OlympusMan :-)

  3. herron says:

    Admit it, Gene … you just like having the camera in your collection. :)

  4. Jamie says:

    Hi Gene,
    Be careful… your cameras are getting bigger. Before you know it, you could find yourself slipping back into film gear!! :-)
    Happy New Year,
    Jamie

  5. Gene says:

    You guys are so right. It fits nicely into my small collection. I still have one film cam left — a Bessa T. Don’t use it much though.

  6. jan says:

    Gene, glad to hear you could use your old software keys. Nice! I’ve always used PSE and found it had all I needed for my work. I bought CS4 and have to say it’s way more than I need by a couple of miles.

    Gene and Earl, there’s a place for you both in the loyalty department when customer appreciation for Nikon and Olympus are mentioned

  7. Pam Colander says:

    Hi Gene,
    Nice new toy! I’ve never figured out why they bother to take up space on a still camera to slap a worthless movie mode into it. Glad my 5D doesn’t have one. Stay cool!

  8. Gene says:

    Thanks Jan. PSE is working out well. Each version subsumes more of the CS versions.

    Pam, great to hear from you! I’ll bet your 5D has been a joy and I know you’re doing spectacular work with it. Movie stuff — it works really well on the Panasonic GH-1, but it costs a lot. The D90 movie stuff is lame.

  9. Glad you got the D90, its always nice to start off the new year with something new:) Bet you’ll enjoy it. I’ve always enjoyed reading your past entries, so don’t stop writing! Take care and happy new year Gene!

Leave a Reply

