Time for Reflection

Sundial

I spent last week in hospital. Some angina-like pains in my chest were sharp enough to convince me to call 911 for an ambulance to make sure I wasn’t in cardiac distress.

The immediate tests and bloodwork showed no sign of heart attack, but because of my coronary history, I was admitted for tests. After a couple of days waiting, and lots of blood work later, I took an electrolytic stress test. The results indicated an anomaly so I was next scheduled for an angiogram in order for the cardiologists to take a look inside.

The angiogram results were good news. No new blockages, and all the plumbing from my bypass surgery looked great. The anomaly turned out to be a small branch artery that had been blocked by an earlier stent. Arterially it isn’t important, but it’s blocked just enough to cause me some angina pains when I’ve exerted myself harder than usual.

Because it’s a little branch, or twig, artery, I’ve dubbed it “Twiglet.” As in, “Twiglet’s complaining again.”

Whenever I spend time in hospital, it feels like a reprieve when I’m home again. A time to reflect and be thankful for family, friends, home, and generally good health.

During this holiday season, allow me to wish you the best of all these things. May your life be blessed with love, comfort, imagination, and joy.

— Gene

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Health & Wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Time for Reflection

  1. MattNJohnson says:

    Hi Gene,

    I’m sure glad that you’re Ok and that it was a minor cardiac event. Although, I think you’re initial reaction to go to the hospital was spot on, there really are no “minor” cardiac events!

    You have a wonderful attitude and much to be thankful for this year. Thank you for sharing a bit of your world with all us blog readers. I enjoy each post even if I don’t comment on each one.

    Best of wishes and a speedy recovery.

    Thanks
    Matt

  2. Gene says:

    Matt,

    Thank you so much. I always enjoy your comments.

    The very best of the season to you and yours, and may 2010 bring you good light!

    Gene

  3. Amy Dominski says:

    Gene,

    Sorry to hear of your health scare. You are right that you don’t always fully appreciate the simple pleasures of home until you’ve been deprived for a bit. I hope you will enjoy a very peaceful holiday. We are awaiting the big storm set to blanket the Midwest. Family that was to come here has postponed their travels, so it will be just the four of us. It’s disappointing but, in a way, relieving to know that the next couple days will be quiet and the schedule will be light.

    May you enjoy a wonderful season and a healthy new year!
    Amy

  4. bg says:

    By forcing you to get checked out and temporarily slow down, perhaps this “scare” will have positive consequences that allow us to enjoy more of your blog posts. God bless you and Merry Christmas if you’re into that sort of thing.
    -Bob

  5. WeeDram says:

    What were the nurses like? ;)

    Glad the plumbing is OK and that you go some good information about what the cause was. It’s always nice to know what’s going on … and that our breakfasts haven’t been a factor!

    Best wishes to you, Marion and Trev for the new year!

  6. JohnB says:

    “Twiglet” … I like the nomenclature! Given the choice between “nurses’ care” and “Marion’s care”, I’m not surprised for a moment that you feel it’s a reprieve to be home.

    I’ve been otherwise pre-occupied for the past while, need to get back to “Creative Non-Fiction”, occasional pint at a local pub and an occasional latte at a local coffee shop. Say … those could be new year’s resolutions!

    Best to you and your family from me and mine.

  7. herron says:

    Gene –
    Sorry for your scare, but delighted it was only something minor and all is well. I enjoy your posts almost as much as I enjoy your pictures. Even if I don’t often comment, I make sure to read them.

    We miss you on our camera site, but I know you are doing things important to you, and that’s as it should be. All the best for a safe and healthy new year!

  8. jan says:

    Gene, I noticed you were “absent” but thought it was a “time of the year” thing.

    I’m relieved to hear that you’re in decent health. It’s such a delicate balance in life. Hopefully you will take this time / season / winter to lie low and just rebuild at a pace that’s best for you and your system.

    Belated Merry Christmas and HNY 2010! Best to Marion and Trevor too.

  9. Gene says:

    Thanks for all your great responses! I’m doing well now and have high hopes for 2010.

Leave a Reply

