My First Fanfic

It was probably inevitable that my affection for Joss Whedon’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer would lead to first reading, then writing, fan fiction. For those of you unfamiliar with the term, fan fiction (or fanfic) is fiction written by fans about the characters that exist in books, movies, comics, or TV shows. These stories cannot be sold, of course. That would violate the copyright of the authors. They’re more tribute, wish fulfillment, or just imaginary takes. They’re written for fun, to be read for fun.

If the concept interests you, you need look no further than FanFiction.net, where you can find thousands upon thousands of such stories. Some very, very good, and some just awful. Everything in between. And something for everyone. There’s a lot of creativity taking place on sites like this. New stories pop up daily.

For Joss Whedon fans, there’s a particularly energetic podcast devoted to audio readings of Joss-based fan fiction. Called Strangely Literal, it’s one to subscribe to if you enjoy what’s called by fans, the Jossverse.

So where’s this leading? Yesterday I had an idea for a fanfic story based on Willow, the delightful Wicca who’s also Buffy’s best friend. Along with my morning coffee at Starbucks, I fired up T-Rex (my Palm TX) and folding keyboard, and dashed off a first draft of a story called “Willow in Detox.” I really enjoyed writing it, and later in the day I polished it up a bit then asked my friend Steve Brannon (host of The Way We Write) if he’d act as beta reader for the story. As usual, Steve’s eagle eye caught problems I’d never have noticed. Thanks Steve!

Feeling bold, I “published” the story on Live Journal: Willow in Detox. I’ve created an account on FanFiction.net and will likely send it there as well. If you’re familiar with the Buffy series, I hope you’ll read it and enjoy it. If you’re not familiar with Buffy, the story will be indecipherable.

Feeling even bolder, I sent the link to Tabz, the Joss lady who chooses stories for Strangely Literal, as well as being one of the key figures in the Between the Lines Studios productions. Tabz liked it and added it to the signup list of stories to be read (all done by volunteers).

So there you go. From inception to “publication” to “acceptance” in one day. The wonder of the Internet.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction, Joss Whedon, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Fanfic

  1. MattNJohnson says:

    Hi Gene,

    I haven’t posted in a while but I wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed your story. You’ve really nailed the cadence of the characters. Keep it coming!

    Thanks,
    Matt

  2. Gene says:

    Matt,

    Thanks for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

