Old Lenses on New Cameras

Nikon 135mm f/2.8 E Series

June already. I’ve celebrated my Beatles Birthday (“Will you still need me, will you still feed me…”) and am amazed that I could be 64.

The first couple of weeks of June were almost entirely given over to a magazine piece I’m doing for Here’s How on “Seniors and the Internet.” I submitted it on Monday and am now phasing back into a normal routine: photography, fiction writing, and blogging.

Yesterday two new lens adapters arrived for my Panasonic Lumix G1 m-4/3 camera: Nikon F and Pentax M42. I’ve been trying out different manual-focus lenses to see how the results look. I’ve already tried my M-mount lenses on the G1 with a Leica M to G1 adapter, and the results have been excellent. The Pentax Super-Macro-Takumar 50mm f/4 lens preserves its reknowned bokeh. The pre-AI Micro-Nikkor-P 55mm f/3.5 is incredibly sharp. The Nikon 135mm f/2.8 E-series lens is very sharp and produces a nice colour palette. Bokeh isn’t wonderful, but it never was. Sharpness is its forte. It effectively makes a 270mm f/2.8 lens equivalent.

One drawback to this is that there’s no body stabilization on the G1 and the 135mm shakes like a 270mm when shooting. I have to either rest the camera on a rail or use a very high shutter speed to get sharp images.

On another front, I’m working on my next short story. I lost momentum when I had to turn to the magazine piece, so I’ve spent time revising the opening scene. I’m now ready to proceed with the story.

And summer has arrived. We had an extended, cool spring — my favourite kind. But it’s nice to have real summer weather now.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Lenses on New Cameras

  1. Gene, get busy! Less photography and more writing my friend!!
    cheers Jan

    ;- )

  2. Gene says:

    Jan, I filed my magazine story today. Now I can turn back to fiction!

Leave a Reply

