Creative Nonfiction Writing Forums

Creative NonFiction Writing Forums (by StarbuckGuy)

Please allow us to welcome you to the Creative Nonfiction Writing Forums at personalessays.org. This is a site for anyone interested in writing nonfiction. We welcome novices to pros, and all age groups, from seniors to students (at any level) who like to write.

‘We’ are me, Gene Wilburn, and co-host Steve Brannon, who delighted me by agreeing to help me moderate and administer the site. You may already know Steve as the congenial host of the forum The Way We Write, on Yahoo Groups.

Creative Nonfiction is described in a Wikipedia entry as

a genre of writing which uses literary styles and techniques to create factually accurate narratives. Creative nonfiction contrasts with other nonfiction, such as technical writing or journalism, which is also rooted in accurate fact, but is not primarily written in service to its craft … Forms within this genre include personal essays, memoir, travel writing, food writing, biography, literary journalism, and other hybridized essays.

Creative nonfiction is writing that contains elements of fiction and poetry: interesting metaphors, poetic language, dialog, tension, story telling, feelings, mood, a sense of place, a sense of wonder, surprise.

As I posted in a previous entry, I’ve wanted to create this site for some time, but health issues prevented me from committing to it. Now that I’m feeling better and more energetic, I’m ready. The feedback I received in response to my query about setting up the forum, both here and on some Flickr writing groups, convinced me it wouldn’t be wasted effort. My thanks to everyone who replied.

From this point on, the forums belong to you. They’re what we, as a writing community, make of them. I feel privileged to be a part of it.

So, please drop by if the idea of writing has ever appealed to you. And, in the now famous words of Mur Lafferty, “I should be writing. And so should you”

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creative Nonfiction Writing Forums

  1. adam says:

    The good ship “NonFiction” is launched!

  2. Gene says:

    Adam, it was really a treat to see you sign on for the maiden voyage!

Leave a Reply

