Friends at Brunch

Earl (by StarbuckGuy)

First, the creative nonfiction writing forums are a go!! The responses to my query were positive, and I’ve begun structuring the site. It should be up for testing in a few days.

Second, my friend Earl, from Rochester, NY, was visiting the Toronto area this weekend. He dropped by to pick up a couple of items we had for him. In addition to the silver shaving bowl he special ordered, he also went home with a working Olympus SP rangefinder that Richard found in a Value Village for $4. I sold Earl my bulk roll of Tri-X, and tossed in a Fujica Half — a 35mm half-frame camera. Everything works fine with it except for the film counter, making shooting with the camera ‘interesting’. You never know how many frames you have left

After picking up his loot, Earl and I drove to the Pickle Barrel at Sherway Gardens to meet up for brunch with some of our mutual friends and cameras junkies. Peter was already there. Jan and Kathy arrived shortly after we secured a table.

Olympus XA (by StarbuckGuy)

The lighting inside the restaurant was dim, with a few hot spotlights. I wanted to see how my Panasonic LX3 would do under those conditions. When Earl took out his petite Olympus XA 35mm rangefinder, I reciprocated with the digicam.

Peter brought along his latest bargain finds: a Nikon D40x and a micro-Nikkor AF 55mm f/2.8. To further torture me, he also had along the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 lens I covet. As usual, we spent a certain amount of time photographing our coffee cups, creamers, and the colourful jam tray.

Jam Tray (by StarbuckGuy)

We opted for various versions of breakfast, with Peter and me each getting a nice plate of bacon and eggs with potato latkes. We were the two on a restricted cholesterol diet of course. Some days ya just gotta indulge.

As usual, when friends get together after an absence, we had a lot of catching up to do. Lots of gearhead talk of course (which is why Marion decided not to join us), but also news about other mutual friends and plenty of comic stories and laughter.

The worst light for me was right across the booth where Peter and Jan were seated. It pushed the LX3 to ISO 1600 and created a very grainy image, but something about it reminded me of the feel of late 50’s, early 60’s LIFE Magazine shots.

Peter, Jan (by StarbuckGuy)

Earl dropped me off at my house after brunch and headed back to Rochester. Marion had been cooking ever since I left and the kitchen smells were a knockout. Dinner should be excellent.

A day of food and conviviality.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Friends, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friends at Brunch

  1. adam says:

    Sounds great, what could be better than the company of friends!

  2. adam says:

    Hi Gene, I’ve done a bit of nonfiction writing that might qualify for your forum …

  3. Gene says:

    Adam, that’s great! It’ll be open for testers in a week or so. I’ll announce it here in Silver Bullets as well as other places once it’s ready for some tire kicking.

Leave a Reply

