Winter Whammy #2

16mm anyone? (by StarbuckGuy)

So, what do you do when you’re stuck at home with a cold and feeling too crummy to read Terry Pratchett Discworld novels? I decided to play with some photo gear.

A year or two back I acquired a Raynox .66x wide angle adapter that fits to any 52mm filter thread. Because 52mm is the standard filter size for most classic Nikkor lenses, I can attach the Raynox to various SLR and DSLR lenses, though I originally picked it up for use primarily on my Canon S3 IS digicam.

When I ordered the Panasonic LX3, I checked on eBay and found that there were third-party adapter units available from Hong Kong that offered a 52mm filter size. I’ve never had any trouble with a Hong Kong purchase, so I Paypal’d an order. It came about two days after the camera itself.

The adapter fits on the threads of the LX3 and is really just a precision-made metal tube. At the open end I can now use my 52mm Nikon filters like UV, ND, and Polarizing, and adapters like the Raynox. Wide angle adapters are not generally noted for having very good optics, but the Raynox unit isn’t bad and seems to have decent rectilinear correction.

I tried it out, taking the photo above, and got pretty well what I thought I would: centre sharpness with all kinds of softness at the edges and corners. Despite this, it gives me a 16mm wide-angle equivalent and I take many photos where the edges don’t need to be overly sharp, so I think it’ll be fun to use.

I had a good night’s sleep and when I woke this morning I felt remarkably better. So much so I began to wonder if the ginger tea Marion brewed for me had some kind of wicca mojo going. Perhaps the virus heard me think that and decided to teach me why science trumps magic every time. It re-gathered its strength and launched an all-out assault — sending me back to sneezing fits and adding a raspy cough for measure.

All I can say is the cold is less intense today, marginally. Guess I’ll watch more episodes of Buffy while I rest on the couch.

BTW, when I sync’d my iPod today, I received the latest installment of I Should Be Writing, the delightful podcast by aspiring writer Mur Lafferty. If you’re a budding fiction writer, her site should be high on your visit list. All her podcasts, including the archived ones, are available at ishouldbewriting.com. You can also subscribe via iTunes. Today’s podcast was a new venture: her first videocast, and I think she handled it very well.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Whammy #2

  1. adam says:

    Glad to hear you may be a bit better. Me, I never get colds or flu – not since in the late 1980s, when I started taking a garlic tablet every day.

    I used to get a lot of bronchitis-like bouts but have had no flu or cold for 20 years ! You wonder if garlic can do that, but I am not fussing about it, something is working!

    My problem the last few days is that it has been too hot to go out walking – 35 deg C +, no point in killing myself to keep fit. Ad that is just too hot for me. Used to be able to take it but no longer. As a result of no exercise, my blood sugar levels have gone up …

    Best wishes from Adam

  2. Gene says:

    Adam,

    If the garlic works for you, that’s great. Bet you’ve not been bit by a single vampire either! :-)

    I understand the ‘too hot’ thing. I lived in Arizona for 10 years and barely survived the summers. I’ll take a Canadian winter any day.

    Gene

Leave a Reply

