Newest Camera on the Block

Nikon D300 (by StarbuckGuy)

The store where I purchased my wonderful Nikon D200 last summer offers a ‘halfback’ option on all new cameras and lenses sold. It’s a kind of consumer protection. If you decide, beyond the initial refund period, that you no longer want your current gear or that your gear has been replaced by newer and better technology, you can return your purchase anytime within the year and receive half of what you paid for it against your next purchase.

With only two days left on my D200’s halfback, I decided to upgrade to a D300. My only disappointment with the D200 was its rather noisy image quality above ISO800. I thought about upgrading to the new D700 FX body, but at this stage of my photography I don’t require a full-frame DSLR. I don’t use a lot of wide-angle lenses and I use telephoto lenses often. The DX bodies are better for telephoto work.

So, on Wednesday, July 16 I brought in my D200 and all the bits that came with it, plus the used Nikon  18-55mm kit lens I’d picked up later. I left the store with a brand new D300 and a brand new 18-55mm VR kit lens. The kit lens is mainly intended for my Nikon D40, but I thought I’d upgrade both at once.

I’ve not had much chance to shoot with the D300 yet, but it feels very like the D200 in setup and use. It’s more sophisticated in certain areas and the sensor is definitely cleaner at high ISO.

Today, despite the hot, humid weather, I took a photo walk with the D300 and three prime lenses: Nikkor AF  24/2.8D, Voigtlander 40/2 Ultron, and Nikkor AIS 105/2.5. All three lenses worked well on the body. The AF 24mm was the most fun to use because manual focusing on a DSLR is fussy work, but the 40mm and 105mm manual lenses turned out excellent images.

Baby Redwings
Baby Redwings (by StarbuckGuy)
Nikkor AIS 105mm f/2.5

Roses Beside the Marina
Roses Beside the Marina (by StarbuckGuy)
Voigtlander AIS 40mm f/2 Ultron

Buying Lunch
Buying Lunch (by StarbuckGuy)
Nikkor AF 24mm f/2.8

Once the weather cools down, I hope to introduce the D300 to several of my other photo haunts.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Newest Camera on the Block

  1. MattNJohnson says:

    Well done! The D300 has some nice little features and upgrades from the D200. I particularly like the larger LCD and the ability to clean the sensor right in the camera. It’s also faster overall and the image quality at higher ISO is much improved. I really enjoy mine and I know you’ll like your new camera too!

  2. Gene says:

    Matt, thank you. You’re certainly right about the nice little features. I keep discovering more of them. Sensor-cleaning is a great addition and I already love the high ISO performance. I’m happy to join D300 brethren :-)

  3. adam says:

    Grrrrrr. You lucky devil.

  4. Gene says:

    Adam, lucky, yes, but I had to sell my Hasselblad kit to swing the upgrade.

Leave a Reply

