Internet-centric Computing

The more I think about it, the less I would need to have a beefed up computer these days as long as I used the resources on the Internet for most of my work. For me, the exception to this would be Photoshop CS3 which I use frequently, but even that could be dispensed with in a pinch.

Already I use Google Docs & Spreadsheets to store my text files and spreadsheets. I update them online, or squirt them up from one of my tiny electronic writing devices. I keep a cardio exercise log there that I update and use to fill out for the sheets I hand in at class for my cardio rehab program.

Blog entries, such as this one, are written directly into WordPress from the keyboard. The online editor is fine for this kind of writing and it offers interactive spell check to help me catch typos and misspelled words.

Most of my good photos go up on Flickr, which now offers an online photo editor for making corrections to colour, sharpness, contrast, sizing. A casual hobbyist could take shots with a digicam, look at them on the LCD, and select the best ones to load up to Flickr, fixing them up once they’re online.

With this in mind, those sub-compact notebook computers, or Internet devices if you prefer, such as the Asus eeePC, could be all the computer you’d need. It runs a variant of Linux that is invisible to the casual user. It offers wireless connectivity and a few basic programs, including a browser.

I’m even tempted to say you could almost do without owning a computer at all. Just book time on an Internet computer at the local library or rent some connection time at an Internet café. Talk about travelling light!

Of course, most of us would be unable to live without checking email several times a day or, if you use IRC or IM, being in constant contact with friends.

But a time is coming, and it could be soon, when the only computing device you might need is an iPhone-like cellular phone with embedded camera, MP3 and video player, browser, and an accessory Blue-Tooth folding keyboard to use for any serious typing.

Forget hard-disk failures and nasty Microsoft upgrades. Soon we’ll be nomadic, Internet-centric computerists doing our hunting and gathering via wireless hotspots.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Linux, Photography, Technology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Internet-centric Computing

  1. Kathy says:

    Gene, your so organized, you make me jealous LD

  2. Kjetil says:

    I mostly agree with your thinking, Gene. Myself, I’ve been using a simple (or stupid if you will) cell phone with Opera Mini (a java-based browser which formats webpages for the small screen of a cell phone) to browse and write in forums and social networking sites, update my blog, keep back-of-napkin-like notes, take the simplest pictures, listen to music on the go and so on.

    I am in no way a skilled programmer, but through coding my own website, I’ve made the content-management features there able to accept images through the web and through email. While I can already rotate, crop, resize and sharpen images there, I am now looking to do more of the light levels and simple colour corrections (maybe b&w conversions if that doesn’t prove too difficult), and then I will have a very good starting point for taking images directly to the web. If I add a digicam that takes compatible memory cards, the results won’t be too hopeless either.

    My trusted M3 doesn’t feel threatened by all this, though, allthough it might not get to take all those exciting “person in front of Eiffel Tower”-type shots we all tend to do while traveling..

  3. Catherine says:

    Hello I found this blog by Google; it’s by this post I found my answer for what I was looking for. Thanks for the great post looking for more quality post.

  4. Gene says:

    Catherine, thank you for dropping by and commenting. Much appreciated!

  5. the good thing about notebook computers is that they are not very heavy but they have small screens *:;

Leave a Reply

