RR Tracks


RR Tracks
Originally uploaded by StarbuckGuy

Sometimes luck plays a big part in getting a nice photo.

Two days ago I walked to the harbour along Stavebank Road, a road that parallels the Credit River in Port Credit. It crosses over a set of CN rails just before I turn off the road and walk around the hockey arena to the park, usually on my way to Starbucks.

I got off to a very late start. I’m beginning to rehab from a cardio procedure and some days I have trouble getting things going. But I decided that, late in the day or not, I really wanted to get out for some fresh air and a walk.

As we approach winter, the sun hangs low in the sky by late afternoon and at times I could barely see, even with sun glasses on, as I looked in a southwesterly direction. As I crossed the tracks I could just make out that the sun was highlighting the rails.

I’ve tried many times to get a shot of these rails, and have never got a shot I really liked, but I took out my ultracompact Canon SD800 IS and framed it the best I could. With the sun so bright, I could only make out a few highlights on the LCD panel, just enough to let me frame the photo.

I honestly had no idea that there was a strategically placed leaf sitting on the track in front of me. I was concentrating so hard to framing the tracks, and could see so little, I simply didn’t notice it.

It wasn’t until later that evening when I uploaded my shots to my PC and reviewed them that I saw two things: I finally got the rail shot I’d been wanting, and that I had a gorgeous leaf in it, in just the right place.

I call that luck. Or perhaps modified luck. If I didn’t have a camera with me, there would have been no photo, so I give myself marks for thinking photographically when I saw the scene. For the rest, I thank the muse.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

