A First Draft

Today was a milestone day. I finished the rough draft of my first short story. I sat in Starbucks typing on my AlphaSmart Neo amid the increasing din of a Saturday morning crowd. My local is beside a river and the rowing crowd wanders in after their early-morning rowing and take up most of the tables. One guy in particular has a loud, braying voice that pierces through the ambient noise.

Despite not getting there as early as I wanted to, I finished the draft!

This evening I’ve printed it out and tomorrow I’ll release it to my inner editor, who has been chomping at the bit, eager to get his critical paws on the story.

It’s short: around 2200 words, but I think some of the scenes will be expanded during editing.

About Gene Wilburn

Gene Wilburn is a writer ~ photographer ~ humanist
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

